www.gofoxpro.com


Go Back   FOXPRO Forums > Hunting > Predator Hunting

Predator Hunting It's open season on predator discussions! Questions, stories, tips, and techniques are all fair game.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-09-2019, 10:35 AM
Furguy's Avatar
Furguy Furguy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: 4859'29.1"N 11043'44.9"W
Posts: 407
Default

^^^^^^^^^^^^ right on
__________________
Oldguy
Furguy
You decide !!!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-09-2019, 04:04 PM
Weasel's Avatar
Weasel Weasel is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SW Utah
Posts: 7,540
Default

Good advice has been given. One thing I might suggest is the use of Heavy Coyote loads or #4 buck. Ditch the 00 buck. Too few pellets and you probably only hit that coyote with 1-2 pellets at most.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-09-2019, 05:38 PM
XNAVYORDIE's Avatar
XNAVYORDIE XNAVYORDIE is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Gettysburg PA Area
Posts: 2,401
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Weasel View Post
Good advice has been given. One thing I might suggest is the use of Heavy Coyote loads or #4 buck. Ditch the 00 buck. Too few pellets and you probably only hit that coyote with 1-2 pellets at most.
Yup but at 70yds with a shottie even with the specialized loads I'd only try it with a perfectly matched choke for that distance, maybe an optic as well...still rather have a rifle in that situation though....; )
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-09-2019, 10:32 PM
camo camo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 24
Default

Thanks for all the advice fellas, I'll keep you posted on how I make out.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-10-2019, 03:13 PM
Weasel's Avatar
Weasel Weasel is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SW Utah
Posts: 7,540
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XNAVYORDIE View Post
Yup but at 70yds with a shottie even with the specialized loads I'd only try it with a perfectly matched choke for that distance, maybe an optic as well...still rather have a rifle in that situation though....; )

Yeah, I'd never try a shot at 70 yards with the shotgun. If a coyote is 45 yards or so away, it is safe unless I have a rifle. (even at that, it may still be safe )
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-11-2019, 11:45 AM
Night Eyes Night Eyes is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Fulton County NY
Posts: 1,025
Default

I know people have shot yotes 70yds plus, with special chokes and good loads. However, I think if your going to push pellets past 50yds, maybe you should not only test pattern, but also test penetration. It only takes one pellet to kill, but is it consistent in every shot. I would take my 22 first.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-12-2019, 07:42 PM
camo camo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 24
Default Dead cow update.

UPDATE !! Strong north west winds today & perfect for the deer stand setup near the dead cow. got there at 3.00 & used the coyote vocals sparingly then 15 minutes of silence. went with a coyote /fox fight & one committed. popped him & he was down but struggling, left him & went to pup distress 3 & another came out right past the downed one. pow ! she took off !! waited about 15 minutes to see if any more would come. I found the second one about 50 yards away. the first one dragged itself off & i couldn't find it but he's toast. and yes as you can see i brought a rifle to the fight this time !!! well i cant get the photo attached , it says the file size is to large. Dang it !

if someone want to help me with posting the pic i can e-mail it or text it.

Last edited by camo; 01-12-2019 at 08:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-12-2019, 10:43 PM
Night Eyes Night Eyes is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Fulton County NY
Posts: 1,025
Default

Congrats, awesome job. I to have to learn to use photo. Have the same problem.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-12-2019, 10:56 PM
Sonny Pruitt's Avatar
Sonny Pruitt Sonny Pruitt is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Hanover County, Virginia
Posts: 848
Default

Guys! go to Imgur.com website and establish an account. Upload your pictures to their site, then select the picture you want to post(it will enlarge), select large thumbnail size(down near the bottom on the right), then select Forums and messages boards , hit the copy button out to the side of that selection. Then go to the remarks section of FoxPro, right click and paste, it will be there after you comment and submit.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-12-2019, 10:58 PM
Sonny Pruitt's Avatar
Sonny Pruitt Sonny Pruitt is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Hanover County, Virginia
Posts: 848
Default



Walla, it is there




You can select the size, Large-Medium or Small

Last edited by Sonny Pruitt; 01-12-2019 at 11:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin by vBSkins.com
Customized for FOXPRO Inc.