www.gofoxpro.com

Go Back   FOXPRO Forums > Hunting > Firearms and Loads

Firearms and Loads A forum dedicated to weapons and loads of choice.

Old 10-15-2012, 01:29 AM

Default 17 hornet

I read the other post about this cartridge and was wondering if anyone has any personal experience with this cartridge. It look pretty sweet but I just wanted others opinions. Also does anyone know when and where I might would be able to buy one savage 25 17 hornets? I've called dicks sporting goods and every local gun shop with no luck.
Old 10-15-2012, 02:47 PM

I have no actual experience with the .17 hornet. I'm just playing arm chair quarterback.

Hornady's advertising really pushes the inexpensiveness, low recoil and a trajectory close to a 55 grain .223. Since they compare it to the .223 I'll focus on that comparison.

1. It's about $.75 a shot which is about $.10 less than a comparable .223 Hornady brand 40 or 55 grain V-max so I'll give them something there if you stick within the Hornady brand. But, compare it to other or off brands and you can get the same V-max bullets in .223 for about $.50 a shot.

2. I don't think anyone will ever admit in public that the recoil of a .223 bothers them so do you really need a cartridge that kicks even less?

3. The hornet's bullet drop is nearly identical to a 55g .223 but compare it to a 40 grain V-max out of a .223 and it looses out. Anyone care to look up wind drifts?

So, I think Hornady's three major selling points are mostly advertising fluff. I suppose the .17 hornet would be good at shorter ranges if you want extra assurance that the bullet will not exit, but the 40 grain V-max .223 also does a good job of going "poof" and not exiting.