PDA

View Full Version : Flying crows

drslyr
03-09-2013, 06:19 AM
I'm using a remington 1100 semiauto with a 30in hastings barrel and extra full turkey choke. I cant hit these dam crows. O yeah #6 shot. I've tried up to a 5ft lead. I've tried modified and improved cylinder. I've shot dead on. nothing. What am i doin wrong?I'm a decent trap and skeet shooter.Gone 50 straight on skeet on occasion.The only thing i can think of is that their out of range. Its hard to judge when their flying by.

QUATTRO
03-09-2013, 11:45 AM
Crows are like the coyotes of the sky as far as sense of sight and intelligence and can pull off some pretty amazing in flight moves to boot. We just try to call and decoy them in as close as possible and let the shells fly

Weasel
03-09-2013, 02:09 PM
You didn't say if you are pass shooting or shooting over decoys.
At any rate.....
I'm no expert by any means, but I have had better luck with #7-1/2 and #8 shot. Pattern your gun with different loads and chokes.

drslyr
03-10-2013, 08:29 PM
Weasel I'm pass shooting alright. I'm passing up every crow that flys by!!!!!!

brimmyfish
03-10-2013, 09:48 PM
We used to shoot 20 ga. 6 shot with modified chokes and didn't have any problem knocking them down. Now we have switched to shooting 12 gauges. I'm shooting 1 1/8 oz hand loads in 6 and 8 shot. Either one knocks crows dead from a long ways out. A friend of mines dad shoots them with a 28 ga and seems to kill them as high if not higher than we are with the 12's. (he's one heck of a shot with any shotgun...lol) I have noticed that since I started handloading for 12 ga that I tend to kill them at longer ranges more consistently. I'm loading about mid range on the powder charge recommendations and these loads chronographed at 1450 fps. Sorry to ramble on hope this helps, bc they are definitely tough rascals to kill.

Bob Aronsohn
03-24-2013, 06:49 PM
Most crows are killed 40 yards and under.