PDA

View Full Version : Load and choke

brimmyfish
04-02-2012, 04:27 PM
What kind of loads are you guys using for crows? Also what kind and constriction choke?

13a19195
04-03-2012, 06:31 AM
12 gauge, full choke, #4, off the shelf Remington and Winchester shells. Disclaimer: I'm new to the sport this year and have only shot six crows, but I'm hooked and am getting better each time out (fewer shots per dead crow).

Ken Crotts
07-27-2012, 08:07 PM
Mr. Brimmyfish,
I have been crow hunting for over 40 years. I use No. 7.5 and No. 8 shot. I never use anything larger than No. 7.5. You need a dense pattern of shot to kill crows. No. 4 shot does not give a dense enough pattern to be very successful, unless you keep all shots under 25-30 yards.

You must pattern your gun with several different shells, and DON'T rely on the choke marking to understand what kind of pattern your gun and shell are shooting. A full choke may not pattern but a 55% pattern. A modified choke can easily pattern "full".

Crows are not hard to kill, if you are a reasonably good shot. I use cheap shells with 1 1/8 oz. of shot, and 3 dram equivalent of powder, which is 1200 fps in a 12 Ga. gun. There is a lot of difference in shotgun shells. Expensive target quality shells are more reliable than cheap shells, but cost a lot more.

I suggest you go to www.crowbusters.com website, if you have'nt already, and read everything on there. A lot of good infor, by knowledgeable people, and a lot of b.s. too!

KenCrow

Ken Crotts
07-27-2012, 08:12 PM
Mr. Brimmyfish,
I did'nt notice you live in Surry County, N.C. until I re-read your post.
I live in Winston Salem! 336-775-2987.

KenCrow

predator77
07-31-2012, 09:31 PM
Are you guys talking about regular bird shot or high brass?

Gadget Bob
08-02-2012, 08:50 PM
Hi BFish and 77,

As Ken stated, 7.5's and 8 are best on crows. The premium target loads from Remington (Nitro Golds) and Winchester (AA) are hard to beat.