PDA

View Full Version : New To Crow, Got 4 on first trip

k6trouble
01-09-2012, 10:36 PM
I'm new to hunting crows and I thought I would try it out with my new foxpro spitfire and a few purchased sounds.

I would "run and gun" i guess ( learning terms from other posts ) because once I unloaded they didn't seem to come back.

I noticed that the "crows" call would cause them to mimic my call, the crow gathering would cause them to respond with different sounds, but both would get them to talk.

I noticed, that after I had them talking for a few minutes, if I kicked on the "crow fight", they would all (all that were currently responding to my other calls ) rush in and circle overhead. I left the call playing over and over, and they would never land... they just kept circling overhead.

If I was in the sun light, out in the open, or had reflective items (sunglasses) for them to see, they would dart off course about 65 yards out and sound a different sound ( assuming this is the alarm "hey yall, this crazy guy is trying to shoot us" sound. )

If I was silent for 20 minutes or so, and waited for crows to move in on their own and start talking, and then went directly to the "crow fight" call... they would come in like they were ready to fight and dive with wings tucked in like they were going to ram something.

Once I had it all figured out, I decided to setup and start shooting. Before I ever shoot, I had 10 or more birds coming in easily at once... and when they would be bored and leave, more would come it... After I shot, they left town. I called for 30 minutes after my first shot and they never came back. I walked about a quarter mile ( still within hearing distance of first spot ) and started calling again, they all came to the call again.

So am I gathering correct information here, or is this just a random set of events that I observed once that will probably never happen again?

long shot
01-10-2012, 09:43 AM