PDA

View Full Version : Crow Hunting 9-25-16

Doom_Saloon
09-25-2016, 06:52 PM
Had some fun out there earlier this morning. Got some shots off at the crows on using the Shotkam.

https://goo.gl/photos/5T9fiSKVowx9muJY6

BC Buck
09-25-2016, 07:23 PM
That is cool. Never seen that cam system.

Doom_Saloon
09-26-2016, 11:20 AM
I was using 7.5s which I've heard should be adequate but it didn't seem to be dropping them right away. Maybe I'll consider using a 6 load. Anyone else have any input on this? I'm pretty new to Crow hunting at this point I've shot 5. Only one of the five I shot was dead before he hit the ground. You can see in one of the videos I had to shoot one twice while I was still in the air.

BC Buck
09-26-2016, 05:54 PM
Do a search on this sight about what loads to use. I remember someone else posting the same problem.

Weasel
09-26-2016, 06:48 PM
Smaller shot seems to work better. Instead of going to size 6 shot, try #8. Patterning your gun is a must. The load and choke will have an affect on the pattern. You want a uniform, dense pattern at the ranges you are shooting.

Doom_Saloon
09-26-2016, 10:28 PM
Thanks Weasel. Come to think of it, I was using #8's on a previous outing where I dropped the first of a pair that came dead in the air and then got the second one which fell to the ground and was still alive but mortally wounded. This was the first time I used 7.5s the other day. I'll go back to the #8's. Thanks a lot for that.

Doom_Saloon
09-26-2016, 10:33 PM
I have to say that the other thing I learned from this outing was to stand if possible when they come in. The time before this last outing I went in the mid-afternoon and saw nothing. A lot of standing around and moving to a few different areas and trying but nothing. So this time I bought a small collapsible stool and went early in the morning. I had head to toe camo on and was well positioned against some trees and brush.