Go Back   FOXPRO Forums > Hunting > Turkey Hunting

Turkey Hunting That's right, FOXPRO is now pleased to offer products to the turkey hunters out there. We've always been diehard turkey hunters as well, so it's time to put the FOXPRO touch into your turkey calling.

Old 02-24-2014, 01:29 AM

Default New to Turkey Hunting- Decoys?

Well Im brand new to Turkey Hunting, going to give it a try this year in May here in NY. Just looking for some opinions here.

Whats the best basic setup I can use as far as Decoys go? Here in NY for Spring Turkey hunt we can shoot 2 bearded Turkeys during the Springtime.

Decoys range anywheres from about 15-20 bucks a Decoy up hundreds of dollars for just one decoy. The cheaper rubber ones seem to be what im looking for as they would be much easier to fit right inside my backpack and haul out to the field with ease, but is there a reason why theyre so cheap?

Also, how many Decoys should I use? 2, 3, 4? Hen? Jake? Tom?

Also looking for a basic call for a newbie Turkey Hunter. I went to Dicks the other day, theres an entire shelf of nothing but Turkey calls. Seems extremely overwhelming to me.

Thanks for any advice
Old 02-24-2014, 09:38 AM

I like the idea of having at least 1 decoy. I would start with a hen and go from there. It gives them something to look at to confirm what they are hearing. I used a cheap one last year and it worked fine, but I think I'm going to get a nicer one this year.
Old 02-24-2014, 10:21 AM

My dad and I always have 2 hens and a jake to upset the incoming Tom. Start practicing now with a slate and learn how to purr and cluck. These are harder to do than a standard yelp. If you want easier go with a nice box call and then give diaphragm's a try. My decoys are bought on a college student budget and all together cost me $50 so they are cheap but effective.
Old 02-24-2014, 11:56 AM