Go Back   FOXPRO Forums > Hunting > Coyote Hunting

Coyote Hunting Canis latrans. Ky'ote. Ky'otee. Whatever you want to call it, it's one of the most popular predators hunted in the world today.

Old 04-26-2013, 01:53 PM

Default Coyote Problems

Hey, im new to calling coyotes. I have tried a couple of times but I havent had much luck. We are having problems with coyotes starting to overpopulate. I live in southeast region of south dakota about 80 miles west of Soiux Falls. We have cattle and they are calving. We are having problems with the coyotes going after calves and running cattle through fences. They havent got any calves yet and i dont want that in the future. The coyotes are so overpopulated they ate a cow in one night that had died just that afternoon of the same day. I need help. what calls would you be using in South Dakota in end of April beginning of May.
Old 04-26-2013, 02:57 PM

start with some non agressive single coyote howls, listen and wait 3 or 4 minutes. If nothing, repaeat, but then follow right away with some type of coyote pair or group howls and yips. Let their response dictate what you do. If they respond and it sounds like they are getting closer sit quiet for a few minutes, then play some type of distress sound. If you don't see anything show up after 6 - 10 minutes of distress sound, switch to coyote pup distress for at least 5 minutes. If nothing has shown up yet, sit silent for 10 minutes, then pack up and move on. Best of luck. Very wiley critters, make sure you are quiet and use the terrain to your advantage. Also, make sure they have to come into the open where you can see them before they wind you.
Old 04-26-2013, 04:53 PM

Default Thank you

Thank you for the info. I have one more question. What time would be the best time of day to go call?
Old 04-26-2013, 08:20 PM