Go Back   FOXPRO Forums > Hunting > Coyote Hunting

Coyote Hunting Canis latrans. Ky'ote. Ky'otee. Whatever you want to call it, it's one of the most popular predators hunted in the world today.

Old 02-11-2020, 01:24 AM

Default E-call placement

I've been calling yotes for a few years now and I'm constantly trying to up my odds for killing these dirty dogs. I do not use hand calls for a number of reasons, the main reason being that I suck at them. My question is, I see these shows on TV and listen to guys talk about their set up. I see guys place their e-caller out away from where they are sitting to draw attention away from them. That's the way I do it too. The longer I do this, the more I'm concerned about being seen putting the call out by yotes before I even sit down. If I was using hand calls I would simply slip in and start my calling sequence. I get the idea of having the sounds coming from somewhere away from me, but what's the difference. Am I better off just putting the caller by me, or is it worth trying to put it out away from me. I'd appreciate some of your thoughts.
Old 02-11-2020, 01:59 AM
FOXPRO Field Staff

I feel putting the caller away from you is too big an advantage to give up. I put a lot of effort into planning my approach to my sit down spot so I can drop the ecaller off on my way, as opposed to going out 50 yds or so, and then back. Takes a little planning but it is doable. Keep in mind that you want the coyote to come in downwind from the ecaller, not downwind from you. Again, that takes some thinking but it has paid off for me many times over the years.
Old 02-11-2020, 04:52 PM